Texas Region


Click here for Texas Region Events
Visit the Texas Region Photo Gallery!
See Past Programs
Additional Information


The 2015 Annual Texas Dessert Reception

…..turns out to be a very sweet occasion

On May 14th, Bnai Zion hosted its annual Texas Region Dessert Reception at Congregation Shearith Israel in Dallas. It was a very successful event. Recently the Israeli government mandated that Ahava Village for Children & Youth, Bnai Zion’s residence for abused and neglected children, must build a Safe Room for each of the apartments by the end of the year. Hence, it is clearly our directive to act now!  In light of this directive, the Co-Chairs Shane Stein and Brett Lazarus, two outstanding Dallas community leaders, served as the Chairmen of this event. Honorees were carefully chosen based upon their humanitarian efforts locally and within the Jewish community. The honorees included Lauren and Dr. Steven Davidoff, Megan and Brian Hodges, Naomi and Rav Jeff Schrager, and Kim and Rob Velevis. Our honorees were aware and expressed this in their comments, of the immediate needs of Ahava. If the money is raised by the end of 2015, the Israeli government will match $11,000 for every $17,000 Bnai Zion raises. The Safe Rooms will have double reinforced concrete walls. Windows will be airtight so that no nerve gas or any other harmful microbes can permeate. Additionally, they will be shuttered by a steel cover, a door of steel which will withstand a bomb blast, a special highly sophisticated air filtration system and of course necessary supplies for the room.  Pastor Larry Huch was the featured speaker who presented a magnanimous check from DFW New Beginnings Church to Yoav Apelboim, the Executive Director of Ahava. Our Bnai Zion National President, David Eisenberg’s 11 year old grandson, Connor, who is an Honors student at school, gave the captive audience a heartfelt introduction about Ahava from the eyes of a child, prior to a short film on the youth village.

Click here to view photos from the event

A Message from
Diane Benjamin, President of the Texas Region   

For over 100 years, the Bnai Zion Foundation has been helping those who need it most in Israel, and fundraising is ongoing in the expanding Texas Region. In recent years, membership in the Texas Region has grown to over 400. We attribute this phenomenal growth to the exciting events we host for educational, informational and fundraising purposes.

Bnai Zion guest speakers are among the most knowledgeable and dynamic experts in their fields, providing vital information and commentary.

Each year the Texas Region honors outstanding community leaders at a spectacular gala featuring entertainment and silent auction. The region also sponsors other activities to benefits its projects that can be found on its events page. We welcome your involvement with our organization.

Avrille Harris
Executive Director, Texas Region
7920 Belt Line Road # 695
Dallas, TX  75254 


Texas Region Officers


President Diane Benjamin
Chairman of the Board Larry Strauss
Vice President Martin van Brauman
Secretary Dr. Kathi Silver


For more information about our educational, social and fundraising events, please check our
Regional Events:
and our
National Events